Classic Westerns

The Kansan (1943)

Director: George Archainbaud
Actors: Richard Dix, Jane Wyatt, Albert Dekker, Eugene Pallette, Willie Best
Runtime: 79 min.

A cowboy is wounded when he stops the James gang from robbing a bank and he wakes up to learn that he's been chosen as the town marshal. His new job is made difficult by the local banker, who wants to control the town.

Trivia: This movie received an Oscar nomination for best Musical Score. Director George Archainbaud is best known for directing B-Westerns, including the Hopalong Cassidy series. The movie is based on the novel Peace Marshal, by Frank Gruber, who was creator of the Tales of Wells Fargo and Shotgun Slade TV series. Gruber once said "There are only seven basic cowboy tales: the cattle empire story, the railway story, the cavalry versus Indians story, the ranch story, the revenge story, the marshal story and the outlaw story."